Learn how many points you earn for each traffic citation and when the DMV can suspend your license.
In Colorado, virtually every traffic ticket carries points that go on your driving record. More importantly, if you get too many, the DMV can suspend your license. So, how many is too many?
The DMV’s Authority to Suspend Your License
Pursuant to Colorado law, the DMV
has the authority to suspend the license of any [adult] driver who . . . has been convicted of traffic violations resulting in the accumulation of twelve points or more within any twelve consecutive months or eighteen points or more within any twenty-four consecutive months . . ..
In other words, you need to watch how many points you get on your driver’s license at both the 12-month and 24-month marks. But, in order to do that, you need to know how many points each violation is worth.
The Point System in Colorado
Colorado has a somewhat lengthy point system and the statute can be difficult to follow. In order to assist your review, we have created an easy to read summary. The following is a list of the most common types of traffic violations and the points associated with each.
|Leaving the scene of an accident||12 points|
|DUI / DUI per se||12 points|
|Driving while ability impaired (DWAI)||8 points|
|Underage drunk driving||4 points|
|Speed contest or aiding in a contest||12 points|
|Exhibition of speed or aiding in such an exhibition||5 points|
|Reckless driving||8 points|
|Careless driving resulting in death||12 points|
|Careless driving||4 points|
|Eluding police (or attempt)||12 points|
|1-4 mph over||0 points|
|5-9 mph over||1 point|
|10-19 mph over||4 points|
|20-39 mph over||6 points|
|40+ mph over||12 points|
|Failure to stop for school signals||6 points|
|Failure to stop for school bus||6 points|
|Improper passing||4 points|
|Following too closely||4 points|
|Failure to yield to emergency vehicle||4 points|
|Failure to observe traffic sign or signal||4 points|
|Improper turn||3 points|
|Failure to signal||2 points|
|Failure to yield to pedestrian||4 points|
|Failure to yield to disabled pedestrian||6 points|
|Failure to maintain or show proof of insurance||4 points|
|No seatbelt||2 points|
If you have received a traffic ticket, feel free to contact my office anytime. All initial consultations are free of charge and I welcome the opportunity to discuss how I can help you get your ticket dismissed or reduced.
“of a minor driver eighteen years of age or older, who has accumulated nine points or more within any twelve consecutive months, or twelve points or more within any twenty-four consecutive months, or fourteen points or more for violations occurring after reaching the age of eighteen years, or, in the case of a minor driver under the age of eighteen years, who has accumulated more than five points within any twelve consecutive months or more than six points for violations occurring prior to reaching the age of eighteen years.”
 It is important to note that, for some of the offenses, you can receive points on your license, which is administrative, but also be charged with a crime. For example, you can be criminally charged for driving under the influence but, administratively (and separately), the DMV can add 12 points to your driver’s license.