Sentences for Felonies and Misdemeanors in Colorado

Both felonies and misdemeanors carry the risk of prison – Be sure to limit your exposure.

If you have been charged with a felony or a misdemeanor in Colorado, prison time is definitely on the table.  That’s why it is critical to consult with an experienced counsel immediately.  If you are wondering just how much confinement you are facing, the first thing you need to do is determine exactly what you have been charged with.  This can usually be found in the statute the state says you violated.  Once you or your attorney has done that, you can use the charts below, which summarizes the sentence you are facing.

Colorado Felony Sentences [1]

 

Offense

 

Presumptive Minimum Prison Sentence

 

Presumptive Maximum Prison Sentence

 

Parole

 

Fines

 

Class 1 Felony

 

Life in Prison

 

Death

 

None

 

No fine

 

Class 2 Felony

 

8 years

 

24 years

 

 

5 years

 

$5,000 –

$1 Million

 

Class 3 Felony

 

4 years

 

12 years

 

5 years

 

$3,000 – $750,000

 

Class 4 Felony

 

2 years

 

6 years

 

 

3 years

 

$2,000 – $500,000

 

 

Class 5 Felony

 

 

1 year

 

3 years

 

2years

 

$1,000 – $100,000

 

 

Class 6 Felony

 

 

1 year

 

18 months

 

1 year

 

$1,000 – $100,000

 

 

As noted above, drug felonies are treated differently from other felonies.  Below is a summary of these special sentences.

Colorado Drug Felony Sentences[2]

 

Offense[3]

 

Presumptive Prison Sentence Range

 

Aggravated Prison Sentence Range

 

Parole

 

Fines

 

Drug Felony 1

 

8 – 32 years

 

N/A

 

3 years

 

$5,000 –

$1 million

 

 

Drug Felony 2

 

 

4 – 8 years

 

8 – 16 years

 

2 years

 

$3,000 – $750,000

 

 

Drug Felony 3

 

2 – 4 years

 

4 – 6 years

 

1 year

 

$2,000 – $500,000

 

Drug Felony 4

 

 

6 months – 1 year

 

1 – 2 years

 

1 year

 

$1,000 – $100,000

 

 

In addition to these sentences, be aware that felony sentences can be increased if you are deemed a habitual offender.[4]

Additionally, misdemeanors carry the serious potential for prison time.

Colorado Misdemeanor Sentences[5]

 

Offense

 

Prison Sentence Range

 

Aggravated Prison Sentence Range

 

Parole

 

Fines

 

Class 1 Misdemeanor

 

6 – 18 months

 

6-24 months

 

 

N/A

 

$500 – $5,000

 

Class 2 Misdemeanor

 

 

3 – 12 months

 

N/A

 

N/A

 

$250 – $1000

 

 

Class 3 Misdemeanor

 

0 – 6 months

 

N/A

 

N/A

 

 

$50 – $750

Importantly, like felonies, misdemeanor drug offenses are treated differently.

Misdemeanor Drug Offense Sentences

 

Offense

 

Prison Sentence Range

 

Parole

 

Fines

 

Drug Misdemeanor 1

 

6 – 18 months

 

N/A

 

$500 – $5,000

 

Drug Misdemeanor 2

 

 

0 – 12 months

 

N/A

 

$50 – $750

 

 

As you can see, whether you are charged with a felony or a misdemeanor, it is critical you begin building your defense in order to minimize your exposure.  As an attorney with almost 15 years of experience in criminal law, I’d welcome the opportunity to assist in getting the best possible outcome in your case.  All consultations at my firm are free.[6]

_______________________

[1] These charts are based on C.R.S. 18-1.3-401, 18-1.3-401.5, and 18-1.3-501.  It is not intended as legal advice but as an aid in understanding the possible sentences if convicted.  The charts should not be relied on as a substitute for consultation with an attorney. The felony chart above applies to crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993.  It does not apply to drug felonies (see 18-1.3-401.5), which are summarized separately below.

[2] These sentences apply to crimes committed on or after 1 October 2013.

[3] In addition to these sentences, all drug felonies will include a sentence of at least 48 hours of community service.  C.R.S. 18-18-432.

[4] C.R.S. 18-1.3-801.

[5] This chart and the misdemeanor drug offense chart are based on.  It is not intended as legal advice but as an aid in understanding the possible sentences if convicted.  This chart should not be relied on as a substitute for consultation with an attorney.

[6] If you’d like additional information on sentencing in Colorado, see https://leg.colorado.gov/publications/overview-colorados-sentencing-scheme.


How Can I Help You

Call 719.219.6336 or fill out the contact form below to get started.